It is possible to delete a work pattern that is not currently in use, or hasn't previously been used. If a work pattern is attached to an employee historically, but isn't currently in use, please scroll down to the heading "Deleting Historical Work Patterns"

An easy way to find out what current work patterns are in use is to run a query. However, a query looking at work patterns in use won’t include the history of which work patterns have previously been used.


Deleting a Work Pattern

If a work pattern is not in use, or has not previously been used, you can follow the steps below to delete a work pattern. 

1. First, access any employee record and click on the 'Planner':

2. Then, from the dropdown list, select the work pattern you wish to delete:

3. Once selected, a new window will appear, from which click on the 'Delete' button and confirm in the popup. This will remove the work pattern from the system completely

4. However, if the work pattern hasn’t been deleted and you see the below message

This means that the work pattern is in use or has been used in the system somewhere, at some point. This could be a work pattern that an employee was on previously, but then has changed to a new work due to a job role change or a change of hours. The system will not allow this work pattern to be removed because it is attached to an employee historically.

There may also be cases that work patterns have been setup and assigned to employee records for testing purposes but you now wish to remove them.
 

Deleting Historical Work Patterns

It is good practice to save old work patterns for auditing purposes. But if you really want to delete one, here's what you'll need to do:

1. Firstly, you need to identify which employee(s) the work pattern is or has been assigned to. The best way to do this is to run a query on work patterns, including the effective date and then once you have run the query, click on the 'Options' button and click 'Show History'.

2. Once this has been identified, again access the employees record where the work pattern is in use, click on 'Planner' and then click on the little clock icon next to the drop down list for work patterns:

  • By default, the system will stop you from deleting an old work pattern, to stop you losing any associated data. To get around this, you’ll need to set the effective date of the new work pattern to at least one day before the effective date of the old work pattern. This essentially tells the system it can disregard the old pattern, as employees appear to have been on the new pattern all along.

3. Finally, follow the steps at the top of this article titled "Deleting a Work Pattern" and you will find it is now possible to remove this work pattern.

If you are still having difficulties please contact our support team.

Thanks,

Customer Services Team

Did this answer your question?